Guest Reviews

Just a Beautiful Home!

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

This was our third visit to Antigua Guatemala and our first stay at Casa Bella. While in Antigua, in February of 2020, we searched for the best place to stay for February 2021. We found Casa Bella on the internet and contacted Robin. She arranged for us to visit her home. Virginia showed us the house, which we immediately fell in love with. We booked for February 2021 having no idea a pandemic was about to hit. Robin was very accommodating and double-checked with us throughout the year to see if we still planned to stay. This was very reassuring as we had heard of many people losing their deposits on homes they had booked in advance. We arrived late afternoon and Robin arranged to have dinner waiting for us. We had a wonderful stay and in fact extended our stay two additional weeks for a total stay of six weeks. Virginia, the House Keeper, Chef, Shopper, and all around helper was awesome. She kept the house immaculate, which was no easy task with the amount of ash from the local volcanoes. The volcanoes were extra active during our stay. Carlos, the grounds keeper, kept the gardens and plants looking great. Both wore masks anytime we were around. The house is very roomy, the roof-top deck is a must see, and at night you can see the lava flows. If you like to cook, you will love the kitchen! Every utensil and appliance for cooking and baking you can imagine. Location, I cannot say enough about the location, a few minute’s walk to the market and many restaurants. Security: they had 24-hour security, with a gated entrance, and very quickly the guards got to know us and we truly felt like we were being welcomed home anytime we came through the gates. We even had one of the guards offer to wash our rented car that got rather muddy when we made a wrong turn down a dirt road. We have already booked for February 2022.

Doug and Peggy
February 2021

“Best Place to Stay in Antigua!”

thumbnail photo of a reviewer-renter in 2014

“We had an absolutely perfect time at Casa Bella. Honestly, it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The house is so incredibly comfortable and beautifully decorated. It is just a few blocks to the market, and we cooked most of our meals in the well-stocked kitchen. I can’t wait to go back to Antigua, and don’t want to stay anywhere but Casa Bella!”

Suzanne W.
August 2014

“Beautiful, Comfortable House”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“We spent a great three months staying in the house. Comfortable and well situated. We will definitely rent this house again.”

Anonymous
January 2017

“My guests were sad to leave. And I can’t wait to go back!”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“If you want safety, security, quiet, beauty and views amidst luxury in a perfect location, choose Casa Bella!

The minute I came through the front security gate into the compound, I knew that Casa Bella was going to be exceptional in every way. From the chaos of the city streets, I found a sense of serenity and calmness in the surrounding beauty of the homes. As I stepped through the front door of the house, the inner garden greeted me with lush plantings and flowers of every color. The red hibiscus blooms were the size of dinner plates. The kitchen was welcoming, well-equipped, functional and kept sparkling clean by the housekeeper. The living areas were spotless and comfortable. The two ground level bedrooms had private baths with walk-in showers and shared a small garden. One of my guests had limited mobility and was well accommodated. The two large upper bedrooms shared a lavish bathroom and many amenities. They opened onto a huge terrace with 360-degree views of volcanoes and the old city. A spiral staircase led to another terrace with the highest views in the neighborhood. (We enjoyed many hours on these garden terraces watching sunrises, sunsets, full moons, volcanoes and shooting stars.)

Casa Bella is actually a living museum of Guatemalan art. There are collections of paintings, sculptures and textiles throughout the property that thrill they eye and speak of the local people and their customs.

The listing description and the virtual tour were accurate. The owner provided useful information about the workings of the house. Also strategic suggestions to help make our trip enjoyable. She gave tips that aren’t found in guide books and stayed in touch. She anticipated our every need, including two house mobile phones. There were no bad surprises, only happy experiences. The driver/guide she suggested was a jewel. He negotiated the city traffic and mountain roads with skill.

One of my guests asked me to mention Meson Panza Verde for a special dinner. I suggest a trip up to Tenedor del Cerro for Sunday brunch for the views, food, art and people watching. All five of us agreed that the trip to Lake Atitlan was the highlight of the trip.”

Margaret S.
August 2016

“Very spacious and well maintained.”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“Close to town and shopping. Full time security. House keeper was very helpful and even cooked and shopped for us when we asked. Outdoor crafts market is only a few blocks away. Town center has changed since my last visit 8 years ago, many more shops and variety of excellent cafes and restaurants at reasonable prices. Very quaint, cobblestone streets and a classic town square with a fountain surrounded by benches to sit and watch the world go by.”

Michael H. from Napa, CA
July 2016

“ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“My family and I (husband, teenage son, and 65 year-old mom) stayed at this beautiful home in Antigua for a week and everything was absolutely perfect! The home is very clean, spacious, well organized, and decorated to perfection with special attention to every detail. Wherever I sat in the home, I enjoyed seeing how every photo, knick knack, furniture, etc., had a purpose and flowed so beautifully with the decoration theme of the entire house. The inside garden is lush and was in full bloom during our stay. I enjoyed waking up early to the tranquil sounds of birds flying around the gardens as we drank our coffee. Julio, the gardener, does an excellent job keeping the garden looking its best. The home also includes a wonderful housekeeper, Virginia, who is excellent. Our days were busy seeing the sights, so it was always nice to return at the end of the day to a clean home. Virginia also offers separate cooking services ~ She is a GREAT cook! The home is located within a gated community surrounded by lovely landscape and brick roads. Everything is within walking distance. There is a lot to see in Antigua. Hotel Santo Domingo is a must see. We have rented about ten vacation homes in the last several years, but Casa Bella has been the nicest of all the homes we’ve ever rented, hands down. I highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Antigua. We will certainly stay at Casa Bella again on our next visit to Antigua. “

Bertha M. from Florida
November 2015

“Wonderful Vacation”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“Casa Bella is a beautiful home with everything a visitor to Antigua might need. We stayed there one month with 3 teenage grandchildren who really appreciated the home, the maid service and the location. The owner is extremely helpful and easy to deal with. We don’t think there is a better rental in Antigua.”

Anonymous, Tucson, AZ USA
May 2014

“Perfect Home From Which to Enjoy Antigua”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“My family (husband, three small children) spent three months at this lovely house and enjoyed every day of it. From the day we arrived we felt at home – the decor is so lovely and the house so well appointed – and we were sorry to leave on the last day. We felt it was the perfect location from which to walk into the central part of town, but just far enough to not be disturbed by the late night revelers or occasional festivities that can get loud right around the park.

We felt we had a fairly good sense of what we’d be walking into from the listing description and photos. But I feel the house is more lovely in person, and some aspects are difficult to capture in pictures. The view of the volcano from upstairs is spectacular. The kitchen is spacious and bright. The living area is perfect for hosting others or a quiet night at home. The bedrooms are big and comfortable. We had many friends from Antigua visit during our stay, and all of them noted how beautiful the house was and that it was the nicest vacation rental they’d seen in town.

Virginia, the housekeeper, keeps the house sparkling clean and is also able to answer all sort of questions about the city and help in many ways. She’s friendly and helpful and was great with our small children.

Robin was very easy to work with and quick to address any issue we had (there weren’t many even for a 3 1/2 month stay). I would highly recommend this house to anyone visiting Antigua.”

Troy K.
August 2013

“A Beautiful House that Puts a Premium on Comfort. The Art is Fantastic!”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“Robin was a great hostess, attentive and thoughtful.”

Barbara C.
April 2017

“Perfect in Every Way”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“Robin’s home is the perfect place to stay to enjoy all that Antigua and Guatemala have to offer. Inside and out, it is comfortable, inviting, clean, well-appointed, and safe. Her staff is amazing and helpful. Everything about this house exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to go back.”

Anonymous
July 2017

“Quiet Respite in Antigua”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“My husband and I used this beautiful home as a base the week before our daughter’s wedding in Antigua. We had a busy week of activities prior to the wedding. We were there basically to sleep and organize gift baskets. We had guests arrive for three of the nights and they enjoyed the place too. Although we weren’t relaxing in this home this trip, it would be perfect place to enjoy the lovely surroundings. The kitchen was the most equipped of any vacation rental we have ever stayed in. The owner provided a nice handbook and it was obvious she had spent a lot of effort on this. Owner wants to ensure that your every question is answered. We paid the housekeeper in advance of our stay to procure some fresh seafood from a seller who comes to the complex every Monday. So, when we arrived late on Monday night, we had a delicious meal prepared. The table was nicely set too. It is very safe location and everything was within walking distance. The home has lots of interesting artwork, comfortable furnishings and a beautiful garden area. You can see the three volcanoes from the rooftop terrace which form a lovely backdrop. The owner has a wonderful contact of a capable and pleasant driver that speaks English. You won’t be disappointed if you rent this home. When I come back the next time I hope to relax and enjoy the surroundings.”

Anonymous
July 2015

“Perfect”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“My family and I stayed for a week at Casa Bella in Antigua. The house is immaculately kept with beautiful gardens throughout and so much natural light. We were a family of four and had more than enough room to lounge together as well as privately. The rooftop deck off the master suite is the perfect setting for a full view of the agua volcano with your morning coffee.

I would highly recommend this beautiful home to anyone wanting to stay within walking distance to town who is looking for a home away from home. It is in a secure gated community near the artists markets, restaurants and more.

Our only issue was having to leave. :)”

Stacy C. from Atlanta, Georgia
September 2014

“Our Wonderful Experience”

Testimonial Icon for Casabella Antigua

“9 of us friends and family stayed in Casa Bella for two weeks. It far exceeded expectations. The place is so charming with wonderful artwork everywhere. Lots of outdoor space with upstairs patio and downstairs courtyard. The kitchen was fully equipped and the high quality of construction made for an impeccably, well functioning house. The location is ideal, in central Antigua yet in a private complex that’s safe and quiet. And the maid that comes with the deal is really sweet and responsive. This was a hell of a deal for the modest price. If you choose to just hangout at the house, its still worth the trip to Antigua!”

Alan N. from New York City
August 2014